Distribution 

16 million+ maker and performer transactions processed (70% increase from 2017)

1.8+ billion sound recording performances (plays) processed

Featured Artist — Gordon Deppe, Spoons

The Spoons wrote and recorded some of the most recognizable Canadian music of the 1980s. From the brooding Nova Heart to Romantic Traffic’s unforgettable chorus, the band’s new wave sound won them fans across the country. Over his four decades in the music industry, founding member Gord Deppe has seen significant changes but he says there’s one thing that hasn’t changed. 


“I would continue to make music, no matter the circumstances,” Deppe told us when he visited Re:Sound’s offices. “Getting good royalties and performance income allows me to make it a full-time career. The royalty side of the business is very important.”

Read the full-interview

This is below the fold text, please fill in.

Featured Label — Justin West, Secret City Records

Secret City Records is the independent Montreal label behind Patrick Watson and Shad’s 2019 Polaris Prize Shortlist nominated A Short Story About War, among others. Re:Sound spoke with founder Justin West about independent labels, their unique needs and the importance of royalties for music creators.



"Performance royalties are extremely important to our business and bottom-line. This revenue stream has helped us to invest more heavily in the artists we work with and the infrastructure supporting those projects. An efficient flow of performance income to the appropriate rights holders helps to create a virtuous cycle."



—Justin West

Founder and President, Secret City Records and Secret City Publishing Chair and Board Member, WIN (Worldwide Independent Network) Board Member, MERLIN, CIMA, ADISQ, and FACTOR

 

Read the full-interview

International Agreements

Australia

PPCA

Brazil

Abramus

Brazil

SBACEM

Denmark

Gramex

Finland

Gramex

Germany

GVL

Greece & Cyprus

Grammo

Ireland

PPI

Italy

SCF

Japan

RIAJ

Netherlands

SENA

Nigeria

COSON

Norway

Gramo

Poland

ZPAV

Sweden

IFPI Sverige

Spain

AGEDI

Ukraine

UMA

U.S.A.

SoundExchange

Monies collected from international agreements

$42.8 million has been collected under International Agreements since December 2012.

CONNECT encourages independent label members to assign to Re:Sound

In summer 2018, CONNECT encouraged its independent label and artist members to assign their Remunerative Rights directly to Re:Sound.  The three major labels – Warner Music Canada, Sony Music Entertainment Canada Inc. and Universal Music Canada – had assigned these rights directly to Re:Sound in 2017.

In summer 2018, CONNECT encouraged its independent label and artist members to assign their Remunerative Rights directly to Re:Sound.  The three major labels – Warner Music Canada, Sony Music Entertainment Canada Inc. and Universal Music Canada – had assigned these rights directly to Re:Sound in 2017.



To date, this has resulted in a 28% decrease in administration costs and $1.2 million in additional royalties available for CONNECT members. It has also simplified data processing and expedited royalty payments through direct payments to CONNECT members.



Exclusive Rights in the reproduction of member recordings remain assigned to CONNECT. This allows CONNECT to deliver more value to its members when their recordings are copied and to explore new licensing avenues and practices.



CONNECT independent labels and artists can contact royalties@resound.ca to learn more about assigning Remunerative Rights to Re:Sound. 

We have downloaded cookies on your device. Some of these cookies are essential for the website to function. Other cookies are non-essential, and used for analytics, information reporting, performance, and advertising. We need your consent for these types of cookies. To withdraw your consent, or change your cookie choices, please do this through your browser. Please read this before continuing to ensure you understand which types of cookies you have consented to. Click the cross to accept and continue. Read our Cookie Policy update

Distribution 

+ 16 millions transactions traitées pour les producteurs et les interprètes (augmentation de 70 % par rapport à 2017)

1,8 milliard de performances d’enregistrements sonores (pièces jouées) traitées

Artiste en vedette — Gordon Deppe, Spoons

Les Spoons ont écrit et enregistré certaines des musiques les plus connues des années 1980. De l’air mélancolique de Nova Heart au chœur inoubliable de Romantic Traffic, le son new wave du groupe leur a permis de séduire de nombreux amateurs partout au pays. 



« Je continuerais à produire de la musique, peu importe les circonstances », nous a confié Deppe lorsqu’il a visité les bureaux de Ré:Sonne. « Tirer de bons revenus des redevances et des prestations sur scène me permet d’en faire une carrière à temps plein. L’aspect des redevances est très important. »

Lire l’entrevue

This is below the fold text, please fill in.

Maison de disque en vedette — Justin West, Secret City Records

Secret City Records est la maison de disques indépendante derrière les albums de Patrick Watson et de A Short Story About A War de Shad nominé sur la courte liste du Prix de Musique Polaris 2019. Ré:Sonne a discuté avec le fondateur Justin West à propos des maisons de disques indépendantes, de leurs besoins uniques et de l’importance des redevances pour les créateurs et les créatrices de musique.




« Les redevances pour l’exécution publique de musique sont très importantes pour notre industrie et notre marge bénéficiaire. Cette source de revenus nous a permis d’investir plus massivement dans les artistes avec qui nous travaillons et dans l’infrastructure à l’appui de ces projets. Un apport constant de revenus tirés des prestations publiques à ces titulaires de droits nous permet de créer un cycle positif. »


—Justin West

Fondateur et président, Secret City Records et Secret City Publishing

Président et membre du conseil d’administration de WIN (Worldwide Independent Network) Membre des conseils d’administration de MERLIN, CIMA, l’ADISQ et FACTOR


Lire l’entrevue

Accords internationaux

Australie

PPCA

Brésil

Abramus

Brésil

SBACEM

Danemark

Gramex

Finlande

Gramex

Allemagne

GVL

Grèce et Chypre

Grammo

Irelande

PPI

Italie

SCF

Japon

RIAJ

Pays-Bas

SENA

Nigéria

COSON

Norvège

Gramo

Pologne

ZPAV

Suède

IFPI Sverige

Espagne

AGEDI

Ukraine

UMA

É.-U.

SoundExchange

Sommes recueillies à partir d’accords internationaux

En 2018, Ré:Sonne a perçu 9,6 millions $ en vertu d’accords internationaux, ce qui a donné lieu à un total de 33,8 millions $ depuis 2012.

CONNECT encourage les membres des maisons de disque indépendantes de céder leurs droits à Ré:Sonne

À l’été 2018, CONNECT a encouragé ses membres artistes et ses maisons de disque de céder leurs droits rémunérateurs directement à Ré:Sonne. Les trois principales maisons de disque — Warner Music Canada, Sony Music Entertainment Canada Inc. et Universal Music Canada — ont céder ces droits directement à Ré:Sonne en 2017.

À l’été 2018, CONNECT a encouragé ses membres artistes et ses maisons de disque de céder leurs droits rémunérateurs directement à Ré:Sonne. Les trois principales maisons de disque — Warner Music Canada, Sony Music Entertainment Canada Inc. et Universal Music Canada — ont céder ces droits directement à Ré:Sonne en 2017.


À ce jour, cela a entraîné une diminution de 28 % des frais d’administration et 1,2 million $ en redevances supplémentaires disponible pour les membres de CONNECT. Cela a également simplifié le traitement des données et a accéléré les paiements de redevances sous forme de versements directs pour les membres de CONNECT.


Les droits exclusifs pour la reproduction des enregistrements des membres sont toujours attribués à CONNECT. Ainsi, CONNECT peut offrir une plus grande valeur à ses membres lorsque leurs enregistrements sont copiés tout en explorant de nouvelles avenues de licences et de nouvelles pratiques.


Les maisons de disque indépendantes et les artistes de CONNECT peuvent écrire à royalties@resound.ca pour en apprendre davantage sur la cession des droits rémunérateurs à Ré:Sonne.


Pour améliorer l'expérience des visiteurs sur notre site Web, le site utilise des cookies. Cependant, vous ne devez accepter aucun cookie pour accéder à notre site Web ou effectuer une recherche sur celui-ci. Cependant, la perte de fonctionnalité peut être minime si vous avez désactivé ou supprimé tous les cookies. Veuillez consulter les paramètres de votre navigateur (et les plug-ins du navigateur) qui vous permettent de configurer si et comment vous recevez des cookies. Lisez notre politique de cookie