How it Works

Re:Sound files proposals and appears before the Copyright Board of Canada to establish royalty rates on behalf of artists and record companies for the different ways sound recordings are used in Canada. Rates are established by the Copyright Board and are based on the value of the music to the particular use.

How Tariffs Are Certified

1 / 8

1

Tariff Application

2

Publication of Tariff Application

3

Interventions/ Objections

4

Preparation For Hearing

5

Hearing

6

Agreement / Settlement

7

Additional Questions

8

Decision

Tariff Application

Re:Sound submits a tariff proposal to the Copyright Board by March 31 of the year preceding when the tariff will apply. Starting in 2019, tariffs will be filed by October 15 of the second year preceding when the tariff will apply.

Publication

The tariff application is published in the Canada Gazette, which provides official notice to prospective users who may object or participate in the proceedings to certify the tariff.

Interventions / Objections

Objectors have 60 days from the publication date to submit their objection. This will change to 30 days in 2019.

Preparation For Hearing

It takes approximately one year to prepare for a hearing in front of the Copyright Board. This includes activities such as exchanging documents, interrogatories, obtaining expert evidence, and filing cases. 

Hearing

Hearings are open to the public. Interested parties and objectors are given an opportunity to file written responses or present arguments and evidence in favour of or against a proposed tariff. Re:Sound files economic evidence to support our tariff rate proposals. Objectors may present alternative proposals. Rate determinations consider many factors, including the financial realities of the relevant industry. Hearings typically last one to two weeks.

Agreement / Settlement

Whenever possible, Re:Sound works with Objectors to align on mutually-acceptable tariff terms which are then jointly presented to the Copyright Board for certification. Under this process, a full hearing is typically not required. The Board may have questions for the parties which are usually answered in writing. This avoids the time and expense of a full hearing and allows parties to work collaboratively on a tariff that addresses the needs of both rights holders and the industry it applies to.

Additional Questions

After the hearing or in response to a settlement proposal, the Board may have questions for the participants, or there may be legal issues in dispute. These are addressed in this phase.

Decision

Adjudicating a tariff can be lengthy, especially for new tariffs addressing a new music use for the first time. It can take 4-5 years for a rate certification after Re:Sound first files a proposed tariff. All Re:Sound tariffs must be approved and certified by the Copyright Board regardless of whether they went through the hearing or settlement process. For tariff renewals, the Copyright Act of Canada allows Re:Sound to continue to collect under the existing rates until a new tariff is proposed or certified. 

1 / 8

Tariffs

These licenses allow broadcasters and business owners, among others, to use millions of tracks without needing to obtain clearance on a track-by-track basis for the specific ways they use music.

Tariff 1 - Broadcasting

Re:Sound issues licenses to all Canadian commercial radio stations (AM and FM radio) and the CBC.


1A: Commercial radio stations

1B: Non-Commercial Radio

1C: CBC


Tariff 2 - Pay Audio

Applies to commercial-free music programming that’s been made available by direct-to-home satellite distribution and major cable distributors across Canada.


Tariff 3 - Background Music

Applies to the use of music in businesses such as retail stores, bars and restaurants.  This tariff applies to businesses that use music and to the companies that supply background music.

A: Background Music Suppliers

B: Use of Background Music


Tariff 4 - Satellite Radio

Applies to multi-channel subscription satellite radio services (such as SiriusXM Canada).


Tariff 5 - Live Events

This tariff can apply to a wide range of establishments, including hotels, bars, restaurants, banquet halls, golf and country clubs, municipalities, festivals, or fairs, that use sound recordings to accompany live events. It is subdivided into many categories:


A: Live Entertainment

B: Receptions, Conventions, Assemblies, Fashion Shows

C: Karaoke

D: Festivals, Exhibitions and Fairs

E: Circuses, Ice Shows, Fireworks, and Similar Events

F: Parades

G: Parks, Streets, and Other Public Areas

H: Sporting Events

I: Comedy and Magic Shows

J: Concerts

K: Theatrical, Dance, and Other Similar Live Performances 


Tariff 6

This tariff applies to the use of music for dance and fitness.  It can apply to gyms, dance schools, skating rinks, nightclubs and adult entertainment venues.


A: Dance 

B: Fitness Classes 

C: Adult Entertainment


Tariff 8 - Music Streaming

Covers non-commercial and commercial webcasters. If listeners have no control over the content of the service, it is referred to as non-interactive. However, if the listener has some control, it is referred to as semi-interactive. Tariff 8 doesn’t apply to podcasts or fully interactive services such as on-demand streams or downloads.


*Tariffs 7 and 9 were proposed to the Copyright Board of Canada but not certified.

We have downloaded cookies on your device. Some of these cookies are essential for the website to function. Other cookies are non-essential, and used for analytics, information reporting, performance, and advertising. We need your consent for these types of cookies. To withdraw your consent, or change your cookie choices, please do this through your browser. Please read this before continuing to ensure you understand which types of cookies you have consented to. Click the cross to accept and continue. Read our Cookie Policy update

Comment ça marche

Ré:Sonne dépose des propositions et comparaît devant la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada pour établir les taux de redevances au nom des artistes et des maisons de disque pour les différents modes d’enregistrements sonores utilisés au Canada. Les taux sont établis par la Commission du droit d’auteur en se basant sur la valeur de la musique pour une utilisation particulière.

Comment les tarifs sont certifiés

1 / 8

1

Demande tarifaire

2

Publication de l’application du tarif 

3

Objections

4

Préparation aux audiences

5

Audience

6

 Accord et règlement

7

Questions supplémentaires

8

Décision

Ré:Sonne soumet une proposition tarifaire à la Commission du droit d’auteur au plus tard le 31 mars de l’année qui précède son application. À compter de 2019, les tarifs seront déposés le 15 octobre de la deuxième année précédant l’application du tarif.

L’application du tarif est publiée dans la Gazette du Canada, qui fournit les avis officiels aux utilisateurs éventuels qui peuvent s’opposer ou participer à la procédure de certification du tarif. 

Les opposants ont 60 jours à compter de la date de publication pour présenter leur objection. Cette période sera réduite à 30 jours en 2019. 

Il faut environ un an pour se préparer à une audience devant la Commission du droit d’auteur. Cela comprend des activités comme l’échange de documents, des demandes de renseignements, l’obtention de preuves d’expert, et le dépôt de dossiers.

Les audiences sont ouvertes au public. Les parties intéressées et les opposants ont l’occasion de déposer des réponses écrites ou de présenter des arguments et des éléments de preuve en faveur ou contre la proposition tarifaire. Ré:Sonne dépose des preuves de nature économique pour appuyer ses propositions tarifaires. Les opposants peuvent formuler des propositions alternatives. Les déterminations des tarifs tiennent compte de plusieurs facteurs, y compris les réalités économiques des industries en question. Les audiences durent généralement d’une à deux semaines.

Chaque fois que possible, Ré:Sonne collabore avec les opposants pour établir des conditions tarifaires mutuellement acceptables qui sont ensuite présentées conjointement à la Commission du droit d’auteur pour être certifiées. En vertu de ce processus, une audience complète n’est généralement pas nécessaire. La Commission peut avoir des questions pour les parties qui ont la possibilité, habituellement, d’y répondre par écrit. Cela économise du temps et les frais d’une audience complète et permet aux parties de collaborer pour établir un tarif qui répond aux besoins à la fois des titulaires de droits et de l’industrie qui doit appliquer ces tarifs.

Après l’audience ou en réponse à une proposition de règlement, la Commission peut avoir des questions pour les participants, ou une question juridique peut être soulevée. Cette étape traite de ces aspects.

Le règlement d’un tarif peut prendre du temps, particulièrement pour les nouveaux tarifs qui s’appliquent à une nouvelle utilisation de la musique. Cela peut prendre de 4 à 5 ans pour la certification d’un tarif après que Ré:Sonne ait déposé une première proposition tarifaire. Tous les tarifs de Ré:Sonne doivent être approuvés et certifiés par la Commission du droit d’auteur, peu importe si les tarifs sont proposés en audience ou sont le résultat d’un processus de règlement. Pour les renouvellements de tarif, la Loi sur le droit d’auteur du Canada permet à Ré:Sonne de continuer à recueillir les sommes en vertu des tarifs existants jusqu’à ce qu’un nouveau tarif soit proposé ou certifié.

1 / 8

Tarifs

Ces licences permettent aux radiodiffuseurs et aux propriétaires d’entreprises, entre autres, d’utiliser des millions de pistes sans avoir besoin d’obtenir une autorisation pour chaque pièce musicale et pour les différents moyens d’utilisation de la musique.

Tarif 1 — radiodiffusion

Ré:Sonne émet des licences à toutes les stations de radio canadienne (AM et FM) et à la SRC.

1A : Radio commerciale  
1B : Radio non commerciale
1C : SRC


Tarif 2 — Audionumérique payant

Ce tarif s’applique à une programmation musicale sans publicité qui est diffusée par un satellite de radiodiffusion directe à domicile et les grands distributeurs par câble dans tout le Canada.


Tarif 3 — Musique de fond

Ce tarif s’applique à l’utilisation de la musique dans des entreprises comme des commerces de détail, des bars et des restaurants. Il s’applique également aux entreprises qui utilisent la musique et à celles qui fournissent une musique de fond.

A : Musique de fond des fournisseurs 
B : Utilisation de la musique de fond


Tarif 4 — Radio satellite

Ce tarif s’applique à l’abonnement multicanal d’un service de radio satellite (comme SiriusXM Canada).


Tarif 5 — Événements en direct

Ce tarif peut s’appliquer à un large éventail d’établissements, y compris des hôtels, bars, restaurants, salles de réception, golfs et clubs de loisirs, municipalités, festivals, foires, ou aux établissements qui utilisent des enregistrements sonores pour accompagner des événements en direct. Il est subdivisé en plusieurs catégories :

A : Divertissements en direct 
B : Réceptions, congrès, assemblées, défilés de mode 
C : Karaoké 
D : Festivals, expositions et foires 
E : Cirques, spectacles sur glace, feux d’artifice, et événements similaires 
F : Parades 
G : Parcs, rues et autres endroits publics 
H : Événements sportifs 
I : Spectacle d’humour et de magie 
J : Concerts 
K : Théâtre, danse, et autres spectacles en direct


Tarif 6 — Danse et conditionnement physique

Ce tarif s’applique à l’utilisation de musique pour la danse et le conditionnemet physique. Il peut s’appliquer à des centres de conditionnement physique, des écoles de danse, des patinoires, des discothèques et des lieux de divertissement pour adultes.

A : Danse 
B : Activités de conditionnement physique
C : Divertissement pour adultes


Tarif 8 — Diffusion de musique en continu

Ce tarif couvre les diffusions Web commerciales et non commerciales. Si les auditeurs n’ont pas de contrôle sur le contenu du service, il est appelé non interactif. Cependant, si l’auditeur a un certain contrôle, il s’agit d’un service semi-interactif. Le tarif 8 ne s’applique pas à la baladodiffusion ou à des services entièrement interactifs comme la diffusion sur demande ou les téléchargements.


*Les tarifs 7 et 9 ont été proposés par la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada, mais ne sont pas certifiés.

Pour améliorer l'expérience des visiteurs sur notre site Web, le site utilise des cookies. Cependant, vous ne devez accepter aucun cookie pour accéder à notre site Web ou effectuer une recherche sur celui-ci. Cependant, la perte de fonctionnalité peut être minime si vous avez désactivé ou supprimé tous les cookies. Veuillez consulter les paramètres de votre navigateur (et les plug-ins du navigateur) qui vous permettent de configurer si et comment vous recevez des cookies. Lisez notre politique de cookie