Advocacy and Innovation

Our continued focus on innovation and advocacy allowed us to meet our strategic goals and expand support for our rights holders. 

Copyright Act Review

Re:Sound helped represent music creators to ensure policymakers understand their needs and the importance of effective copyright laws.

President Ian MacKay appeared before the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology, and the Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage. Re:Sound also submitted briefs to both. These appearances were supported by individual meetings with policymakers to present the concerns of music creators and their unique considerations.

Copyright Board of Canada

Re:Sound was proud to join the Canadian Music Policy Coalition (CMPC), to address Copyright Board reform.

The coalition comprises more than 150,000 Canadian songwriters, composers and publishers, more than 621,000 performers and record labels domestically and internationally, and 280 professional trade organizations. The CMPC advocated for the following reforms of the Copyright Board of Canada: Create new deadlines in respect of Board decisions; Codify and clarify specific Board procedures through regulations; and  Specify decision making criteria that the Board is to consider.

Re:Sound and SOCAN Joint Venture

Building on the Joint Portal Pilot completed in 2017, in December Re:Sound and SOCAN announced plans to launch Entandem.

Co-owned and overseen by Re:Sound and SOCAN, Entandem brings the music licensing now managed separately by each organization into a single, jointly-operated business. With Entandem, retailers, restaurants, nightclubs, fitness clubs and myriad other organizations that use music will be able to complete their legally-required licenses in a single transaction.

CONNECT migration

CONNECT and Re:Sound have been working together since 2016 to improve royalty distributions to label rights holders.

In 2018, CONNECT encouraged its independent label and artist members to assign their Remunerative Rights (which include both Neighbouring Rights and Private Copying royalties) directly to Re:Sound to simplify data processing and expedite payments.

International Spearhead Group

Re:Sound has a long-standing involvement with the International Performing Rights Committee (PRC), convened by the International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (IFPI) and the World Independent Network (WIN).

In 2018, our President, Ian MacKay, joined the Spearhead Group, comprised of CEOs from the world’s top performing music licensing organizations. Other members include the CEOs of SoundExchange (USA), PPL (UK), GVL (Germany), SCPP (France), SENA (Holland), ZPAV (Poland), AGEDI (Spain), and PPCA (Australia).

Artist in the Office

Re:Sound’s Artist in the Office

program is an amazing opportunity

for employees to hear our rights

holders perform, and for music

creators to learn about Re:Sound,

royalties and how they can assign

their performance rights.

In 2018, Re:Sound welcomed:

Julian Taylor Band — The Good Lovelies — KASHKA — Ryan Cook with Mike Kerr — Winona Wilde — Del — Adyn Townes — The Young Novelists — David Newland — Irish Mythen



"I See Gold" : The Good Lovelies

Play

Irish Mythen : Jesus

Play

Bringing best in class digital solutions to the business through international collaboration allows Re:Sound to continue to be at the forefront of new developments in royalty collection and distribution.

International Collaboration

Bringing best in class digital solutions to the business through international collaboration allows Re:Sound to continue to be at the forefront of new developments in royalty collection and distribution.


For the past decade, Re:Sound has worked with DDEX (Digital Data Exchange), a consortium of digital media, music and tech companies focused on creating international standards for all parts of the digital supply chain.


Re:Sound has been a member of DDEX working groups focused on implementing a metadata standard that many music industry organizations are now using. This standard helps the industry recognize greater efficiencies and cost savings through automated processing. Independent research shows a 66% reduction in key operations expenses over a five-year period for digital music providers adopting DDEX standards.


In keeping with Re:Sound’s approach to innovation, the organization will be among the first to adopt the MLC Portal Project, called RDx (Repertoire Data Exchange). A collaboration between IFPI, which represents the recording industry worldwide, and WIN, the Worldwide Independent Network, RDx will make it easier for recording rightsholders and MLCs to maintain repertoire and rights data, and to identify and resolve rights conflicts more efficiently by streamlining the delivery of sound recording metadata through a central hub.

Re:Sound has played an integral role in establishing RDx’s data requirements and design. Following this extensive involvement, Re:Sound was one of two MLCs (music licensing collectives) selected to test RDx.

We have downloaded cookies on your device. Some of these cookies are essential for the website to function. Other cookies are non-essential, and used for analytics, information reporting, performance, and advertising. We need your consent for these types of cookies. To withdraw your consent, or change your cookie choices, please do this through your browser. Please read this before continuing to ensure you understand which types of cookies you have consented to. Click the cross to accept and continue. Read our Cookie Policy update

Promotion des intérêts et innovation

En 2018, la poursuite de nos efforts en faveur de la défense des intérêts et de l’innovation nous a permis d’atteindre nos objectifs stratégiques et d’élargir le soutien pour nos titulaires de droits.

Examen de la Loi sur le droit d’auteur

Ré:Sonne a représenté les créateurs et les créatrices de musique pour s’assurer que les décideurs politiques comprennent leurs besoins et l’importance de lois efficaces sur le droit d’auteur.

Le président Ian MacKay a apparu devant le Comité permanent de l’industrie, des sciences et de la technologie et le Comité permanent du patrimoine canadien. Ré:Sonne a également présenté des mémoires à ces deux comités. Cette présence a été appuyée par des réunions individuelles avec les décideurs politiques dans le but de présenter les préoccupations des créateurs et des créatrices de musique et leurs besoins particuliers.

Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada

Ré:Sonne est fière de se joindre à l’Association canadienne des éditeurs de musique pour prendre la parole au sujet de la réforme de la Commission du droit d’auteur.

L’Association regroupe plus de 150 000 auteurs, compositeurs et éditeurs de musique canadiens et plus de 621 000 interprètes et maisons de disque à l’échelle nationale et internationale, et 280 organisations professionnelles de l’industrie. L’Association a défendu les réformes suivantes auprès de la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada : Créer de nouveaux échéanciers à l’égard des décisions de la Commission; Codifier et clarifier les procédures spécifiques de la Commission par des règlements; et Définir les critères de prise de décision adoptés par la Commission.

Projet conjoint de Ré:Sonne et de la SOCAN

En prenant appui sur le projet pilote du portail conjoint mis sur pied en 2017, Ré:Sonne et la SOCAN ont annoncé en décembre des plans pour le lancement d’Entandem.

Appartenant et supervisé à la fois par Ré:Sonne et la SOCAN, Entandem permet d’administrer conjointement les licences d’œuvres musicales qui étaient autrefois gérées séparément par ces organisations. Grâce à Entandem, les propriétaires de commerces, de restaurants, de boîtes de nuit, de centres de conditionnement physique et d’innombrables autres organisations qui utilisent la musique vont maintenant pouvoir obtenir les licences requises par la loi en une seule transaction.

Migration CONNECT

CONNECT et Ré:Sonne collaborent depuis 2016 pour améliorer les distributions de redevances aux maisons de disques.

En 2018, CONNECT a encouragé les maisons de disques indépendantes et les artistes représentés de céder leurs droits rémunérateurs, qui incluent à la fois les droits connexes et les redevances de la copie privée, directement à Ré:Sonne afin de simplifier le traitement des données et d’accélérer les paiements.

International Spearhead Group

Ré:Sonne a un engagement de longue date avec le Comité international des droits d’exécution (PRC), sous l’égide de la Fédération internationale de l’industrie phonographique, ou IFPI et le Worldwide Independent Network (WIN).

En 2018, notre président Ian MacKay s’est joint au Spearhead Group, composé de chefs de direction des principales organisations mondiales de gestion des droits musicaux. Nous retrouvons parmi d’autres membres les chefs de direction de SoundExchange des États-Unis, PPL de Grande-Bretagne, SCPP de France, SENA de Hollande, ZPAV de Pologne, AGEDI d’Espagne et PPCA d’Australie. 

Programme Les artistes au bureau

Le programme Les artistes au bureau de Ré:Sonne est une formidable occasion pour les employé(e)s d’assister à une prestation artistique de nos titulaires de droit, et pour les créateurs et les créatrices de musique d’en apprendre davantage au sujet de Ré:Sonne, les redevances et comment se fait la cession de leurs droits.

En 2018, Ré:Sonne a accueilli :

Julian Taylor Band — The Good Lovelies — KASHKA — Ryan Cook with Mike Kerr — Winona Wilde — Del — Adyn Townes — The Young Novelists — David Newland — Irish Mythen




"I See Gold" : The Good Lovelies

Jouer

Irish Mythen : Jesus

Jouer

Les solutions numériques exceptionnelles offertes aux entreprises par une collaboration internationale permettent à Ré:Sonne de demeurer à l’avant-garde des nouveaux développements en matière de perception et de distribution de redevances.

Collaboration internationale

Les solutions numériques exceptionnelles offertes aux entreprises par une collaboration internationale permettent à Ré:Sonne de demeurer à l’avant-garde des nouveaux développements en matière de perception et de distribution de redevances.


Au cours de la dernière décennie, Ré:Sonne a travaillé avec DDEX (Digital Data Exchange), un consortium de médias numériques, d’entreprises de musique et de technologie axé sur la création de normes internationales pour toutes les parties de la chaîne d’approvisionnement numérique.


Ré:Sonne est un membre des groupes de travail de DDEX axés sur la mise en place d’une norme de métadonnées que plusieurs organisations musicales de l’industrie utilisent maintenant. Cette norme aide l’industrie à atteindre une plus grande efficacité et économie de coûts par un système de traitement automatisé. Des études indépendantes montrent une réduction de 66 % des principales dépenses d’exploitation sur une période de cinq ans pour les fournisseurs de musique numérique qui adoptent les normes DDEX.


Conformément à l’approche de Ré:Sonne à l’égard de l’innovation, l’organisation sera parmi les premières à adopter le projet de portail MLC, appelé RDx (répertoire d’échange de données). Issu d’une collaboration entre l’IFPI, qui représente l’industrie de l’enregistrement dans le monde entier, et WIN, le Worldwide Independent Network, RDx fera en sorte qu’il sera plus facile pour les titulaires de droits d’enregistrement et les sociétés de gestion collective des licences de musique (MLC) de mettre à jour le répertoire et les données relatives au droits, et d’identifier et de résoudre les conflits de manière plus efficace en rationalisant la distribution des métadonnées relatives aux enregistrements sonores au moyen d’un centre d’information.


Ré:Sonne a joué un rôle essentiel dans l’établissement et l’élaboration des exigences en matière de données RDx. Suite à cette importante participation, Ré:Sonne était l’une des deux sociétés de gestion collective des licences de musique sélectionnées pour tester RDx.

Pour améliorer l'expérience des visiteurs sur notre site Web, le site utilise des cookies. Cependant, vous ne devez accepter aucun cookie pour accéder à notre site Web ou effectuer une recherche sur celui-ci. Cependant, la perte de fonctionnalité peut être minime si vous avez désactivé ou supprimé tous les cookies. Veuillez consulter les paramètres de votre navigateur (et les plug-ins du navigateur) qui vous permettent de configurer si et comment vous recevez des cookies. Lisez notre politique de cookie